Match Report – Abbey Rangers (H)

DTFC Academy 2-1 Abbey Rangers

The Magpies progressed to the next round of the National League Youth Alliance League Cup after a narrow victory over Abbey Rangers. Rangers, who are part of the Pulse Premier Football Academy took the lead before the Young Magpies came back to secure progression.

Manager Mark Robinson made a few changes from the side who were knocked out of the FA Youth Cup last week. Liam Fredericks returned in goal, whilst Harry Boulton partnered Jack Steele in the centre midfield, with Ben Symes missing out through injury. Matthew Chambers also made his first appearance of the season, replacing the injured Harry Ackerman. New signing Joel Hewitt started up front.

It was the visitors who took the lead in the eary stages of the game. A wonder strike on the half volley from 25 yards out gave Fredericks no chance. Charlie Gosney did well to lose his defender but the shot was easily saved. Hewitt went close to a debut goal but the Rangers keeper was on hand to make a good save.

On 39 minutes, the Academy got the equaliser that was coming. Danger man Gosney received the ball and sent it towards the near post, allowing Josh Leake to score. It was the least the Magpies deserved at half time.

Rangers should’ve taken the lead on 55 minutes when a good cross found the number 9, but the free header missed the goal. Hewitt thought he had given the Magpies the lead when he put the ball into the net but the assistant referee flagged for offside.

The game looked over for the Magpies on 83 when the visitors were awarded a penalty. However, Fredericks pulled off a great save to deny them the lead. Gosney went straight up the other end and nearly put the Magpies in front.

The game was won however in the 88th minute. A moment of magic from Leake saw him beat the Rangers keeper with a beauty of a finish. This was enough to secure progression into the next round.

MAGPIES XI – 1) Fredericks, 2) Hickman, 3) Fowles, 4) Steele, 5) Harrington, 6) Toland (C), 7) Chambers, 8) Boulton, 9) Hewitt, 10) Leake, 11) Gosney

Substitutes – Darlow, Cook, Ewing, Vaux, McDermott